Industry Press Release

National Ski Patrol announces board chair Ed McNamara receives coveted Minnie Dole Award


Ed and Edee McNamaraLakewood, CO (April 22, 2015) — The National Ski Patrol (NSP), the largest winter rescue organization in the world, announced today that Ed McNamara was the recipient of the organization’s coveted Minnie Dole Award during its Powderfall Conference at Canyons Resort in Park City, Utah. The award was presented to McNamara by NSP Assistant Board Chair Keith Cassidy and NSP Executive Director John McMahon.

“This was a total surprise, and it is an absolute honor to be placed in the same category as these other incredible recipients,” said McNamara. “I am grateful to all who made this possible, and in particular to my wife, Edee, who has supported me in this organization for the past 35 years.”

The Minnie Dole Award is given to patrollers who exemplify a spirit of service, dedication, and sacrifice to the NSP that was epitomized by the organization’s founder, Charles Minot “Minnie” Dole. The first Minnie Dole Award was given to Charles Sauer in 1969. Since then, only 26 other people, including McNamara, have been recognized.

Criteria for the award include a minimum of 30 years of active service as a patroller, registration as an active member at the time of nomination, providing 15 continuous years of leadership in some capacity (ski patrol director up to national offices), and “has designed and implemented programs, projects, procedures, and equipment that have positively affected the entire National Ski Patrol.” The nomination must come via a letter signed by 10 or more current NSP members with National Appointments, and receive approval first by at least three-fourths of the National Awards Committee, then by at least three-fourths of the members of the board of directors.

“Ed has consistently demonstrated exceptional leadership and dedication to the National Ski Patrol at all levels of the organization,” said Assistant Board Chair Keith Cassidy. “His continued service exemplifies the best traditions of Minnie Dole and the other esteemed recipients of this award.”

McNamara, a retired U.S. Army National Guard colonel, has served on federal, state, and local emergency medical and Homeland Security committees, is a nationally registered paramedic, and has been deployed with federal disaster medical teams responding to Hurricane Katrina, 9/11 in New York City, and the Haiti earthquake, among others. He spent six years serving as the NSP’s Outdoor Emergency Care Program director, serving as editor and one of the principal authors and photographers of the Outdoor Emergency Care Fifth Edition textbook. McNamara is also a patroller and former patrol director at Wachusett Mountain in Massachusetts.

McNamara is currently serving his second term as chair of the NSP board of directors. As chair, he has been working to enhance the educational opportunities the NSP provides for members and build stronger relationships with key EMS and snow sports industry groups such as the National Association of State EMS Officials (NASEMSO), the National Ski Areas Association (NSAA), and the National Park Service (NPS), among others.

“It is an honor to recognize Ed McNamara with this award,” said NSP Executive Director John McMahon. “Ed’s many years of leadership have been instrumental in keeping NSP at the forefront of wilderness emergency rescue.”

About the National Ski Patrol
The National Ski Patrol is a federally chartered nonprofit membership association dedicated to serving the public and the mountain recreation industry. For 75 years, the NSP has been at the forefront of safety and emergency care education programs. The association’s 28,000 members represent 98 percent of the nation’s patrollers. For more information, access www.

For further comments or interviews regarding the NSP, please call NSP Communications Director Candace Horgan at (303) 988-1111, x2625.