Industry Press Release

Announcing the Official Launch of GearInstitute.com

08/30/2012

Industry Experts Unite to Professionalize Gear Testing

Santa Fe, NM (August 29, 2012) — The Gear Institute is proud to announce the live release of www.GearInstitute.com, the outdoor gear buyer’s source for credible reviews and in-depth advice by the most respected product testers in the outdoor industry.

The Gear Institute is dedicated to producing the most objective, transparent, and helpful product testing for buyers of outdoor gear. “The one word that defines our focus at the Gear Institute is ‘credibility,'” says editor Justin Nyberg. “We use expert testers. We compare products head to head. And we allow no outside interests to influence our reports. The result is a tool that everyone from gear users to buyers to manufacturers can believe in.”

The Gear Institute was founded in 2011 by former Outside Buyer’s Guide Executive Editor Justin Nyberg, former Outdoor Retailer and SIA Snow Show Daily Editor Peter Kray, and veteran web developers and outdoor enthusiasts Tal-ee Roberts and Ken Marold. When it was only four months old, the Gear Institute’s beta site was selected as one of the top 5 outdoor gear blogs by Outside magazine.

The Gear Institute differs from other outdoor gear review sites by delivering objective product testing with both breadth and depth. The Gear Institute covers the full range of activities and products in the outdoor industry including skiing, backpacking, camping, climbing, running, outdoor technology, fishing, and vehicles but each product is tested head-to-head in the field by a true, niche expert. “What sets us apart is the people behind the Gear Institute,” says Nyberg. “Our tests are driven by guides, veteran industry journalists, professional coaches, and respected outdoor athletes, and presented for mainstream readership in a clean, easy-to-read format that’s conducive to quick online research.”

The all-star faculty of professional gear testers includes:

Ali Carr (women’s snowboards, snowboarding jackets), Ali.Carr@gearinstitute.com

Allison Pattillo (running jackets, apparel), Allison.Pattillo@gearinstitute.com

Andrew Bisharat (climbing shoes), Andrew.Bisharat@gearinstitute.com

Ben Fletcher (GPS watches), Ben.Fletcher@gearinstitute.com

Berne Broudy (technical jackets), Berne.Broudy@gearinstitute.com

Billy Brown (watches, helmet cams, pocket cameras), Billy.Brown@gearinstitute.com

Bob Lee (ski goggles, helmets, gloves; hiking boots), Bob.Lee@gearinstitute.com

Catherine Lutz (women’s ski pants), Catherine.Lutz@gearinstitute.com

Chris Van Leuven (climbing harnesses, cams), Chris.VanLeuven@gearinstitute.com

Craig Dostie (ABS packs, beacons, skins, bindings), Craig.Dostie@gearinstitute.com

Craig Rowe (headlamps, stoves, camping cookware), Craig.Rowe@gearinstitute.com

Dan Nash (backpacks), Dan.Nash@gearinstitute.com<