Industry Press Release



Sun Valley, ID (March 27, 2010) — The North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA) honored three notable persons who have made significant contributions to winter sports endeavors and also bestowed their Harold S. Hirsch Awards in the fields of snow sports writing and photography for 2010.  The awards, this year presented at Sun Valley Resort in Idaho, were revealed at a banquet on March 27, 2010, that was climax of the organization’s annual meeting.

The Carson White-Golden Quill Award, named after the group’s first president, honors an individual who has made a significant contribution to snowsports in North America.  For 2010, the honor went to Stu Campbell, Known throughout the world, Campbell fashioned a career from his own understated elegance both on skis and his ability to put words to the act of gliding on snow. 

NASJA’s 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring a lifetime of snowsports-related innovation, competition, design and other endeavors, was presented to Charlie Meyers. He was admired for his graceful, engaging style and thoughtful perspective. Meyers was, said Denver Post sports editor Scott Monserud, ” a master wordsmith and storyteller a gem of a writer.”

Tom Meyers, PR Communications Director at Wachusett Mountain in Princeton, Massachusetts was the recipient of the 2010 Bob Gillen Memorial Award.  This award, named in honor of a former Ski Magazine editor and marketing wizard of Crested Butte and Sugarbush ski resorts, honors an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism in public relations and media communications.  Mt. Meyers has been involved with the ski industry since 1981 and is known as a person who maintains consistent, credible, open communications with the media.

The Harold S. Hirsch Awards, named after the ski-clothing pioneer-creator of the White Stag Company, honors the best writers in the snowsports journalism fields of magazines, newspapers, columns and Internet and for winter sports photography and TV broadcasting.  The awards were underwritten by prize grants from the Head Ski Corp., inventor of the metal and plastic-laminate ski, and Sport Obermeyer, the ski clothing manufacturers. 

In Magazine Features, Jay Cowan of Seattle, who has written for Ski, Mountain Gazette, Cross Country Skier and more, captured the Hirsch trophy and a pair of Salomon skis for his 2009 stories.

John Fry of Katanah, New York, an editor at large for Ski Magazine, and many time NASJA winner receives the Newspaper Columns honors for 2009.

Tops in Newspaper Features for 2009 was North Conway, New Hampshire’s Tom Eastman, Eastman is a radio columnist, historian and lecturer.

Internet Writing honors for 2009 were a tie between Roger Leo, from Princeton Mass; he has been an award winning photographer/reporter for over 34 years. Peggy Shinn is from Rutland Vermont and contributes to Ski Racing, Vermont Life and many others. In the category of Snowsports Photography, Tom Winter was awarded the Hirsh Honors; his work appears in Powder, Ski, Skiing and many other publications.

The final Hirsch Award, Book Writing, judged every 3 years, was presented to John Fry for his definitive book “The Story of Modern Skiing.”

The Paul Robbins Outstanding Competitor Award is voted on at the general membership meeting by the entire journalist and corporate membership. This year’s vote was held at 4:30pm. MST in Sun Valley Idaho. This Year’s award goes